Contact Us

Planning & Zoning Board


The Planning and Zoning Board meets every third Tuesday of each month at 8:30 AM in the City Commission Chambers of City Hall at 228 S Massachusetts Ave, Lakeland FL 33801.

The Board reviews proposed changes to the City’s Comprehensive Plan, future land use map amendments, re-zoning requests, conditional use requests, and changes to the Land Development Code (LDC).

The Board is made up of seven citizens appointed by the City Commission and is assisted by the staff of the Community Development Department. To apply for the Planning & Zoning Board please visit the City Clerk page.


Planning & Zoning Board Meetings

Planning & Zoning Board Meetings are divided into two parts:

Public Hearing

The first part of a Planning & Zoning Board Meeting is a Public Hearing during which new cases are heard, applicants explain their requests, and public comments are received. Except for conditional use requests and requests for minor modifications to existing Planned Unit Developments, the Board normally does not make a final decision on new cases that are up for Public Hearing.

General Meeting

The second part of the meeting is the General Meeting during which staff makes recommendations and the Board makes final decisions on cases that were presented at the previous month’s public hearing. Minor modifications to existing Planned Unit Developments are final upon action by the Board. All other requests approved by the Board are forwarded to the City Commission for final action.

Packets will be posted on the Board Meetings & Agendas page.


 2018 Planning and Zoning Board Dates

Meeting Application Deadline Minor Modification Application Deadline Send Legal Ad & Letters Packet Published Signs Posted Ad Published
Wed, Jan 17 Wed, Jan 03 Mon, Jan 22 Thu, Dec 28 Mon, Jan 08 Tue, Jan 09 Thu, Jan 11
Tue, Feb 20 Thu, Feb 01 Tue, Feb 20 Fri, Feb 02 Fri, Feb 09 Tue, Feb 13 Thu, Feb 15
Tue, Mar 20 Thu, Mar 01 Tue, Mar 20 Fri, Mar 02 Fri, Mar 09 Tue, Mar 13 Thu, Mar 15
Tue, Apr 17 Mon, Apr 02 Fri, Apr 20 Fri, Mar 30 Fri, Apr 06 Tue, Apr 10 Thu, Apr 12
Tue, May 15 Tue, May 01 Mon, May 21 Fri, Apr 27 Fri, May 04 Tue, May 08 Thu, May 10
Tue, Jun 19 Fri, Jun 01 Wed, Jun 20 Fri, Jun 01 Fri, Jun 08 Tue, Jun 12 Thu, Jun 14
Tue, Jul 17 Mon, Jul 02 Fri, Jul 20 Fri, Jun 29 Fri, Jul 06 Tue, Jul 10 Thu, Jul 12
Tue, Aug 21 Wed, Aug 01 Mon, Aug 20 Fri, Aug 03 Fri, Aug 10 Tue, Aug 14 Thu, Aug 16
Tue, Sep 18 Mon, Sep 03 Thu, Sep 20 Fri, Aug 31 Fri, Sep 07 Tue, Sep 11 Thu, Sep 13
Tue, Oct 16 Mon, Oct 01 Mon, Oct 22 Fri, Sep 28 Fri, Oct 05 Tue, Oct 09 Thu, Oct 11
Tue, Nov 20 Thu, Nov 01 Tue, Nov 20 Fri, Nov 02 Thu, Nov 08 Tue, Nov 13 Thu, Nov 15
Tue, Dec 18 Mon, Dec 03 Thu, Dec 20 Fri, Nov 30 Fri, Dec 07 Tue, Dec 11 Thu, Dec 13

Calendar items in bold font indicate changes in the schedule due to holidays.

Planning & Zoning Board Members


 

Stephanie Franklin, Chair

Andrew Snyder, Vice Chair

Cindy Green, Secretary

Larry Durrence

Al McClure 

Yvonne McShay
Brent Burris


Correspondence


Please send any correspondence to members of the Planning and Zoning Board to brandy.gillenwater@lakelandgov.net or by traditional mail:

(Board Member)
c/o Brandy Gillenwater

Community Development Department

228 S Massachusetts Avenue

Lakeland, FL 33801