City Home  > Lakeland Police Department >Special Svcs > Special Operations Section


Special Operations Section

Traffic Unit - The Lakeland Police Department Traffic Unit consists of the Traffic Enforcement, Traffic Homicide Investigators, DUI Enforcement and Red Light Cameras. These highly trained officers engage in high visibility patrols directed at areas within the City of Lakeland.

DUI Enforcement - The DUI Enforcement consists of four highly trained officers in the realm of detection and apprehension of impaired drivers. Since 1998 when the DUI Enforcement Unit was created, LPD has taken a proactive stance on getting impaired drivers off the street.

SWAT/HNT - The Lakeland Police Department's SWAT Team was established to respond to and address high risk situations which require specialized equipment, techniques and training.

K9 Unit - The LPD K-9 Unit has a rich history of pride, loyalty, and commitment. The Unit has received numerous awards for work performed on the street and in competitions. The first unit was formed in the 1980's and consisted of four members. In October 2013, the LPD K9 Unit won the USPCA National Patrol Dog 1 Trials for the second year in a row. In addition, Officer Ted Sealey and K9 Bruno won "Top Patrol Dog" in the nation for the second year in row. 

Red Light Camera Program -  The purpose of this program is to increase overall traffic safety in the City of Lakeland. The goal of the program is to reduce red-light running violations, crashes, and injuries without impacting city funds.

Honor GuardThe Lakeland Police Honor Guard was formed in the late 1980’s.  The motto of the unit is “Semper Memoria”, which is Latin for Always Remember. The Honor Guard represents the Department, its officers and families at law enforcement funerals, parades and other ceremonial occasions – both solemn and festive.  It is dedicated to standing shoulder-to-shoulder with members of the public safety community during times of celebration and emotional duress.  A position on the unit is part-time and is currently made up of 23 members.