• Instagram Icon
  • Vimeo Icon
  • YouTube Icon
  • Nextdoor Icon
  • Search Icon

Fire Marshal Cheryl Edwards Honored as FFMIA Fire Marshal of the Year 2023

Lakeland, FL - The Florida Fire Marshals and Inspectors Association (FFMIA) has announced the recipient of this year's Fire Marshal of the Year award, Lakeland Fire Department's (LFD) own Fire Marshal Cheryl Edwards. 

Cheryl has committed nearly 30 years of dedicated service to LFD and has served as Fire Marshal for the past 8 years. She was recognized for her outstanding contributions to fire prevention and safety in the State of Florida. 

The award was presented to Fire Marshal Edwards by FFMIA President Jeff Lucas and First Vice President Jennifer Pierce at the 75th Annual Florida Fire Prevention Conference today, Monday, Nov 6, in Gainesville, Florida, at the UF Conference Center. Cheryl will also be recognized by Governor Ron DeSantis, the Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis, and Florida Cabinet members in January 2024. 

"Cheryl is an exceptional fire marshal who has dedicated her career to making our community safer," said Lakeland Fire Chief Doug Riley. "Her passion for fire prevention and safety is evident in everything she does, and she is truly deserving of this award." 

Cheryl has been involved in numerous fire prevention initiatives and programs. She has also been active in promoting fire safety awareness through public education and outreach efforts. 

The FFMIA Fire Marshal of the Year award is presented annually to a fire marshal who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, innovation, and dedication to fire prevention and safety. The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of fire prevention and have worked tirelessly to promote and enhance fire safety in their communities. 

Stephanie Lewis, APIO

Public Relations and Information Manager

Lakeland Fire Department